100 things about me (part 1)

Since it’s NaBloPoMo and I’m in serious need of some blog fodder, it seemed like a good time to do the “100 things about me” meme.

Without further ado…

1. I’ve only lived in 2 states

2. I’m about equal parts New Englander and Southerner

3. Most people don’t believe the part about being a Southerner

4. The first thing that EVERYONE says when they learn where I grew up is ” you don’t have an accent.”

5. I’m quite sick of hearing that.

6. I’m culturally Jewish.

7. I’m a little bit religiously Jewish too.

8. I grew up surrounded by Southern Baptists.

9. We rarely saw eye to eye.

10. Because of this, I was friends with the freaks, the weirdos, and the kids of color (all 5 or 6 of them).

11. I think if being Jewish and lefty hadn’t been so weird I would have figured out earlier that I was queer.

12. I came out when I was 19.

13. On National Coming Out Day.

14. That is still a little embarassing.

15. I am a femme girl.

16. This was hard in college because I thought you had to be butch to be a “real” queer.

15. My high school classmates thought I was queer before I did.

16. They thought this because I was a feminist.

17. Being a feminist has been important to who I am as long as I can remember.

18. It wasn’t until college that I understood what being a feminist had to do with being anti-racist.

19. The first time I heard about white privilege I was so mad I had to keep myself from leaving class.

20. I think I’ve come a long way since then.

21. I have a long way to go.

7 Responses to 100 things about me (part 1)

  1. dawnfriedman says:

    You know, it’s so weird — you don’t type with an accent!!!

  2. Susan says:

    Sure you have an accent (and so do the rest of us!)

    So did you mean to come out on National Coming Out Day, or was that just a happy-embarassing accident?

  3. Lisa V says:

    Southern, Jewish, Lesbian. Please tell me you own a gun. Because that would be like the Gay, Communist Gun Club on SNL. You would be such a contradiction. Alas, I doubt you own a gun, or vote Republican.

  4. Erin says:

    I’m confused–what does being a feminist have to do with being anti-racist? I’m definitely a feminist and definitely anti-racist (and a Jew living in Georgia), but I never connected the two before. The idea of “white privilege” is sickening…was it presented to you as a good thing? I would have been furious!

  5. roundisfunny says:

    Erin – white privilege was presented go me as definitely not a good thing, but I had my head too far up my butt to hear it.

    As for the connection between being a feminist and being anti-racist – think about that quote from the Holocaust – first they came for the Jews and I didn’t stand up because I wasn’t Jewish…

  6. Liza says:

    OK, can I just say that I find it totally hilarious that you ALSO had a hard time being a femme when you came out in college?

    I tried sooooooooo hard to be the dyke I thought I was supposed to be, and later even wondered if maybe I was actually straight since I was so much happier and more comfortable when I reverted to being low-maintenance femme. Thankfully, I finally sorted it out and am who I am, probably the last person you’d pick for being a dyke in a lineup, and thus outoutoutoutout because otherwise I’d be invisible.

    Were they still doing those anti-racism workshops when you were there? Man did people freak out about white priv when we did those.

  7. Erin says:

    Ah, got it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

