A little panic

I’m in a mood.

I’m worried about Roo. He’s not eating more than a couple of ounces at a time before he starts grunting. He grunts most of the time these days but is in a good mood when he’s not grunting.

This has been going on for a while, and today he ate exactly one full feeding. The email back from the pediatrician about it was completely unhelpful and suggested we get him off the goat’s milk formula, which we originally got him on (with advice from another, crunchier pediatrician) because of colic, and because the cow’s milk formula has corn syrup as the first or second ingredient and we couldn’t – pardon the pun – stomach it.

Now I’m in a terrible mood because we just had an insane dinner with my mother-in-law and her untrained 75-pound German Shepard puppy who will (supposedly) eventually be a service dog but for now is an uncontrollable maniac who is allowed in restaurants because of her service harness.

Ugh. Someone please talk me off the ledge. I feel like we’re going to be up half the night with the baby because he didn’t get enough calories today to get any good sleep tonight, I’m half-convinced that something truly terrible is wrong with him, and I’m having one of those nights where I  just feel completely unqualified to be this child’s Mama.

Argh.

10 Responses to A little panic

  1. shirky says:

    I don’t know anything, but I think that if there was really anything wrong, he wouldn’t grunt, he’d scream bloody murder, right? So maybe he’s just fucking with you. I hear they do that.

  2. dawn says:

    I don’t have any grunting advice either except to say that BABIES ARE WEIRD and they do weird things. How old is he again? Growth spurts and teething (because babies can teeth for MONTHS before they get teeth because they are WEIRD and Madison got her first tooth at like five months and was a bear for at least a month before but Noah didn’t get his first tooth until much later and was a totally different kind of bear) can make babies do funky things. But by the time he’s a year you’ll be able to toss off (with confidence) “oh he always does that when fill-in-the-blank” at playgroup and the newer moms will marvel at your calm sanity.

    Hang in there!

  3. techie says:

    Welcome to parent land. Wouldn’t it be grand if they came witha manual tattoed on their butt.

    Roo will be fine. Food intake can vary greatly from day to day.

    hang on there.

  4. techie says:

    sorry bout the typos– typing w/ one hand

  5. art-sweet says:

    Have you thought about asking moxie?

    grunting babies sound normal to me, but what do I know?

  6. Fostermommy says:

    Don’t ignore your Mommy Sense, but grunting and reduced eating sounds totally “normal” to me.
    Our wacky little FD used to eat 2oz/feeding for a total of maybe 15oz/day. and this was at 8 months old, 10 months old. She was inSANE! 🙂 She really did fluctuate a LOT. For a while it was 24oz/day and then it dipped down for a long time. Now she’s on milk and solids (at 18 months old) and she will eat CONSTANTLY, if allowed. But still only downs 4-6oz of milk at a time.

    If there were something really wrong, I agree, he’d be screaming.
    I wouldn’t switch off the goat’s milk formula without a really good reason. He probably won’t eat more of the cow’s milk formula, either. We had our FD on goat’s milk formula and it was really good for her reflux (and so much healthier, in our opinion, since we made it in our kitchen and there was no corn syrup!)

    If you think it’s gastrointestinal distress, have you tried the OTC gas drops (Myco…something-or-other)? Or the homeopathic colic tabs? If it’s “colic”, that’s mainly neurological, IMO, and usually ends at 3-4 months. So you’re almost home-free.

    Take a deep breath, enjoy him when he’s happy and hug him when he’s grunty or sad. Don’t worry about his daily intake as much. If he’s wetting diapers, he’s healthy.

  7. Sue says:

    I have never fed an infant every day of its life but I do remember from nursing school that I was supposed to reassure stressed out parents that babies fluctuate in their eating habits, and it is related to growth. He is probably in a resting state. I do know from taking care of lots of babies that they grunt a LOT. If he is happy between feedings, try to take a break with him. Off the ledge.

    As for the dog, I suggest a baseball bat. I love dogs. But I hate large of control dogs. Or more to the point I hate when people don’t handle their out of control dogs well and make them everyone else’s problem. The best you can do with that one is know that it will pass and you don’t have to take the dog home. Just the grunting baby.

  8. Susan says:

    It is hard to relax about food and eating, and even harder to relax about food and eating with an infant. But you will figure it out.

    The best case scenario: Babies are weird, and your typically weird and totally amazing Roo is simply not so hungry these days, but is managing his own eating just fine for him, and he’ll even things out over the next few weeks. And you’ll all get used to the grunting and the mood swings.

    Worst case scenario: there’s some problem. But probably a fixable problem, and you’ll learn what you need to learn and advocate for him and it will all work out.

    Curious Girl had a feeding tube for 2.5 years, so I know just what it’s like to be looking at a relatively-new-to-you infant who’s not eating very much and the consequent worries. There are feeding problems that some babies have. Most don’t, though, and likely Roo is just having typical baby weirdness. When you get the manual and figure it all out, let us know!

    And in the meantime, do what you can to relax. What I did was start keeping a journal of what CG ate, so I could verify the trends for myself and our pediatrician. If keeping a record would help, do it. But if it makes you obsess, don’t.

    It does get easier as they get bigger–I am still capable of obsessive worry about CG, of course, but it’s easier when they can talk a bit, and when you see how they grow and whatnot.

    Hang in there: I don’t mean this comment to be a downer! You’re all getting to know each other–and you are one competent mama! You guys will all be great.

  9. Snoskred says:

    I’m trying to visit as many of the NaBloPoMo blogs as I can and I thought I’d say hi, I liked your blog.. 🙂 even though I seemed to get here on not your best day. Both my nephews were lactose intolerant, maybe it could be something like that?

    I don’t have kids, I have cats. My older cat really scared the living heck out of me recently when she lost a *lot* of weight. I’ll be honest, I thought something really bad must be wrong with her. I didn’t want to take her to the vet because it really stresses her, and she’s lost weight before, you know, so I just thought I’d make sure she was getting plenty of food and hang on until the next vaccinations. But I was getting more and more worried. When it came time to go to the vet, I was really scared. It sounds so lame to say it but to me these are my kids, I’m not having human ones and I couldn’t stand if anything happened to my cats. I have it a little easier, they’re indoor cats. Imagine having you some indoor kids! 😉

    Turns out she is fine, he recommended some different food which she is wolfing down, and she’s put on plenty of weight in a short space of time. She’s been all sooky for the last couple of weeks because she had to go to the vet and she’s now driving me nuts, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    I’m sure it will all be fine. I’ll bookmark you to make sure. 😉

  10. Erika says:

    Roo just started the formula from breastfeeding before, right? So, it is a huge change to him, and one to which he will adjust. I agree with trying the gas drops. They worked on my little guy almost instantly. No worries, he won’t starve. Babies just don’t. Keep offering and follow his lead. Trust Roo in this. Really, children train us just as much as we train them.

    You did a great job breastfeeding him as long as you did. Amazing job, actually. I think that is wonderful.
    Hugs to you and Roo,
    Erika

Leave a Reply

