Made it

I was up at o’dark thirty this morning to catch a 9 am flight. I spent the last two weeks stressed about today and it could not have been any smoother (though I’m afriad I’ve used up my travel mazel before the return trip). Roo was AMAZING. He didn’t complain on the way to the airport even though I woke him up at 5:30 am (this is where I need to say I had already been up for 45 minutes. Holy.), fell asleep before we boarded the plane, slept through takeoff, and then hung out on my lap and made little sounds and chewed my thumb for the rest of the flight. I am counting my blessings.

Now I’m at my parent’s house, without NSG, for the next few days. I asked them before I came not to second-guess my parenting (which they did, hard-core, the last time I saw them and then insisted they weren’t second-guessing, just trying to be helpful). Already today my mom has given me an argument about how he’ll smell like a salad if we use olive oil on him after his bath (he doesn’t) and how his hair will look greasy if we use Vaseline (which gives him rockin’ little curls). Why? Aren’t grandparents supposed to be able to roll with the punches?

I’m dreaming, aren’t I?

But she was beside herself to see him, so she made up for it.

My mantra: I am a duck, and this will roll off my back. Roll, roll, roll.

Wish me luck!

7 Responses to Made it

  1. Johnny says:

    Umm, what do you think you’ll doing XX years from with Roo’s kids. Har-har. Idealist!

  2. Carry says:

    Yeah, gotta’ love the “advice” you get, ‘eh? My grandmother told me, right after giving birth to my eldest, that if I didn’t stay on my back for at least a week afterwards, my uterus would fall out!!! Though, now that I have been through the early weeks twice, I almost should have just listened just to get the break and the rest. LOL

  3. Lisa V says:

    She is getting used to her new role as grandma. It will mellow out. And one day, you will do the same thing to Roo when he has babies. It’s natural, and you have to stop yourself from the advice, but it takes work.

    Have an excellent holiday.

  4. Clementine says:

    Ha! I hope that you and Roo have a great time with your parents, and I hope they don’t stress you out too much. Good luck!

  5. Sue says:

    Family, can’t live with ’em, can’t hire hit men to take them out, if only just for the holidays.

    Waddling off to mine, quack, quack.

  6. Shannon says:

    Quack!

    Tomorrow they arrive.

  7. Susan says:

    Nothing like parenthood to bring on the boundary issues! Just keep quacking, and you’ll all (hopefully) get used to the new roles.

Leave a Reply

