High School Lesbian, and The Cure

Bring on the Google hits for that title.

Lisa V. asked: Okay, what was high school like? How did being a lesbian effect it? What was your favorite part of your teenage years?

I hated high school. Who didn’t? I went to a very conservative Christian high school in the Deep South. I was a fish out of water (I’ve mentioned this before) in a lot of ways.

I didn’t actually come out until I was 19. I came out to everyone else in my life about 10 minutes after I figured it out for myself, and I was in college already. I really think that if I hadn’t been so painfully unlike many of the people around me (I mean in the obvious ways, not in the way that most everyone feels at some point during adolescence) I would have figured it out sooner.

Ironically, my classmates mostly seemed to think I was a lesbian because I was a feminist – and this despite having a long-term boyfriend. People used to ask me ridiculous questions like “Hey – are you a thespian?” And then when I got annoyed they would insist they were only asking me if I was part of the drama club.

****

My favorite part of being a teenager… (isn’t that a little bit of a contradiction in terms?) The most fun I had was with my closest friend whose parents were completely out to lunch. We used to sneak out of her house at night by jumping out the (first-floor) window right next to their bedroom. We weren’t such rebels – a lot of nights involved writing with hair spray on the pavement and lighting it on fire, or going to IHOP at 3 am – but we thought we were pretty cool.

For a while her brother played bass for a band that played exclusively Cure covers. Between the two of us we dated everyone in the band – yes, that’s right, we were Cure cover band groupies. When the lead singer broke up with me, I holed up in my room and played “Pictures of You” over and over, clutching his photograph and crying. I still can’t listen to that song without cringing in embarassment.

As it turns out, he’s gay too – classic.

My favorite, favorite night during high school involved interpretive dance in the parking lot of a Mexican restaurant with “Total Eclipse of The Heart” blasting on the stereo of my friend’s VW Rabbit. (Yes, we were sober. Who needs alcohol when you have Bonnie Tyler?)

How about you? Come on, I shared my ridiculous high school stories. ‘Fess up.

6 Responses to High School Lesbian, and The Cure

  1. I absolutely hated high school with the firey passion of a million white hot knives being poked into my eyes. No lie… bisexual outspoken & funny is NOT what most catholic highschools want in their students. Couple that with forcing us to wear sweaters made of steel wool in colors that rivaled fish guts, and you’ve got yourself a recipe for 4 years of ANGST with a capital HOLY FUCK!
    I used to cut out school early whenever possible, always had a pink slip every morning for REFUSING to wear that lovely woolen V neck of STEEL, and didn’t participate in one extra curricular activity except ONCE, I was part of the drama whooopla & did makeup for everyone for one of their stupid plays. Hated the acting part of it (go figure, I’m a LEO so it makes no sense that I didn’t dig it…) but loved doing the makeup. Knew I was good at it so the hell with it, makeup for one stupid play it was. Couldn’t wait to get out of there & start my life without the catholics breathing up my crotch. That said, I did manage to pull one stellar prank whilst there… every year they held a halloween dance. Now, as a general rule, school dances sucked, regardless of time or space, HOWEVER- this one year, for WHATEVER reason, I figured it would be fun to rent an obscenely expensive costume just ONCE & go totally incognito & not say ONE WORD (the costume was one that covered me from head to toe so that unless I took the ‘head’ off, you didn’t know who was inside it from Adam…) I didn’t speak one word that night, but did manage to tweak alot of behinds and cause alot of mahem… to the point that a teacher nearly forced me to leave if I didn’t reveal who I was & calm down etc…

    Needless to say, I politely & quietly left without saying a word. And so as not to let anyone know who it was, I parked my car nearly a mile down the road from school. I mean really, would anyone have believed that an innocent fuzzy white rabbit who oddly enough DROVE A VW RABBIT could’ve caused so much trouble? Perrish the thought!

    Sad that that’s my only kewl HS story isn’t it?

    ps. I’ll deny everything if ever questioned…

  2. dawn says:

    Yes, high school was hell for me, too. Brett and I were just watching Breakfast Club (hey, Tivo told us to) and I remember when I saw that as a teen (post-high school) I thought, “If the grown-ups know it’s this bad then why in the hell aren’t they doing anything about it?” I always felt like I was living in an alternate reality from adults who seemed to ignore all the injustice, all the cruelty and all the scary depression.

    I can’t think of one happy memory from high school actually. Now I need to go lie down with a cool compress on my forehead to take away the bad thoughts! 😉

  3. Sue says:

    You can do that with hairspray? How did I get to 47 not knowing this! I hope my daughter never learns!

  4. Shannon says:

    I so identify with this:

    “I really think that if I hadn’t been so painfully unlike many of the people around me (I mean in the obvious ways, not in the way that most everyone feels at some point during adolescence) I would have figured it out sooner.”

    I went to a progressive, feminist, Catholic girls’ school and if I had met any teenaged boys or “normal” girls in high school, I’m SURE I would have realized quickly that I’d rather kiss my best friend than a dumb boy. We also did ridiculous, non-drunken things. But none involved fire, that I recall…shucks.

  5. Lisa V says:

    Meekly… I loved high school. I wasn’t one of the super popular kids, but I was popular enough that I had a large group of friends (we even called ourselves “the group”). We were made up of Mormons and drama geeks. I was a drama geek. There were 15 of us, boys and girls. Only two out of the group dated each other, so the rest of us ran stag together. If there was ever a dance that we didn’t have dates for, we always paired up and went with each other. We got drunk some weekends, and others we would spend at church dances. We did stupid stuff constantly, so it’s hard to think of one incident. I even enjoyed my 10 and 20 year reunions.

  6. kim.kim says:

    When I was at my last highschoo, my art teacher told the entire class that I was lesbian on the day that I was away sick. It was an all girls Catholic school. I wasn’t and am not a lesbian which isn’t the point. I didn’t find out about this until years later.

    I hated school too, I went to about 12 schools growing up. I was always different, they always got me to do the things like sing the songs or be loud in public when it was needed and the rest of the time I tried to survive.

    School can (not always but often) kill creativity in children.

Leave a Reply

