100 things about me (part 4)

Part 1, 2, 3. Because really, only 70 things about me would just not have been enough.

71. I still find it hard to believe that I can do work I believe in AND have a family.

72. I still can’t believe I have a family of my own.

73. I can’t believe how much I love them.

74. I’m particularly amazed at my committment to a being I’ve only known for four months.

75. I used to worry that I would think my baby was ugly.

76. He’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.

77. I’m scared to parent others because I can’t imagine loving them as much as I love this one.

78. Parenting a black man is a challenge I hope I can rise to.

79. There is so much to protect him from.

81. I hope that as a white mama I can prepare him to deal with racism.

82. I believe that feminists have a responsibility to raise gentle, feminist boys.

83. I don’t worry that my child doesn’t have a dad who is actively parenting him.

84. I do worry about making sure we have enough men in our lives who are good models for him.

85. It pisses me off when people who are raising their children in all-white environments ask me what I’m going to do to make sure my child has male role models.

86. Being an anti-racist seems like one of the most important things I can do for my family.

87. I might still want to get pregnant someday.

88. I don’t care about having a biological connection to my kid but I would like to find out what it’s like to grow one.

89. I don’t want Roo to be the only non-white person in the family.

90. If I could create my personal heaven it would include sea kayaks.

91. I think in a former life I was a sea creature. One that lived in cold water.

92. I fall asleep on my way to the pillow every single night.

93. I’m really proud of myself for breastfeeding Roo.

94. I’ve been a bookworm my whole life.

95. Mostly I read fiction and sociology books.

96. And cookbooks.

97. I drank diet coke every day until I was 26.

98. When my Dad was in the hospital I lost my taste for it and haven’t had one since.

99. I switched to coffee.

100. I couldn’t live without coffee.

Leave a Reply

