Panicking/reveling

I am all alone.

This morning NSG took the kid a few hundred miles south for a few days to visit some friends. It’s the first time I’ve been away from Roo for more than a work-day. He was cuteness personified this morning: giggling hysterically when I pretended to eat his feet, clutching at my face and trying to put my nose in his mouth, kicking his legs like mad as I stripped him for his bath. It was really, really hard to leave.

I panicked when I left this morning, and it seems reasonable that I’ll have a repeat performance tonight when I go home to an empty house. 

On the other hand, I’m going to sleep through the night for TWO WHOLE NIGHTS (my second and third since July). And at home I have pulled together the critical supplies: a bottle of wine, wicked spicy food that NSG can’t tolerate, a brand new paperback book, a DVD I haven’t watched yet, and knitting needles, very soft merino wool, and a pattern for something I can’t mention here (yet).

Wish me luck!

5 Responses to Panicking/reveling

  1. Clementine says:

    Hey, good for you! I hope you’ll have a wonderful time with all of your goodies. Rest, lady, rest!

  2. Carry says:

    Oooh, good luck and enjoy! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what you’re knitting.

  3. shirky says:

    if sleeping through the night gets old, I can call you when we get up!

    you kids are brave to go off alone with him, I say…i’m not ready for octuplet dazzle to go grocery shopping alone yet.

  4. afrindiemum says:

    mmmm, i’m in a knitting frenzy over here. can’t wait to hear what it is!

  5. Susan says:

    Enjoy your quiet time, even if it’s a little lonely without them. In the end, it’s good to have your own space and time (and for NSG and Roo to have the same). Safe travels to them! And happy knitting to you.

Leave a Reply

