Ess gezunterhait…

… as my grandmother would say – it means “eat in good health” (and this before passing a huge bowl of instant chocolate pudding).

I think the boy is ready for food. He’s watching the food from our plates to our mouths and occasionally putting his hands right into one of our plates. The pediatrician told us a few weeks back that we could start giving him food if we wanted him to sleep through the night, but we felt like if that was the only reason, it didn’t make sense, since he’s been waking up only once per night (hallelujah) for the last few weeks, and we’re pretty happy with the goat milk formula we’ve been giving him. We would wait.

Well. The last few nights the kid just can’t get full. Instead of eating a full bottle at 11 and then a couple of ounces between 2 and 4, he’s been up at 1:00, 3:30, 6:30, and so on, eating almost twice as much as he usually does at one night feeding. I think it’s almost time – and he’s 5 months old today!

As an aside: when my friend J. started giving her daughter food, she said it became immediately clear what kind of parents they were. She would put 2 bibs on the baby and feed her with a towel held under her chin; her husband would strip the baby down to her diaper and then throw her in the bathtub afterwards. Heh.

So I’m looking for tips. We want to make a lot of it ourselves, so I’m looking for a recommendation for a good (and not too expensive) baby food grinder and for good organic jarred baby food for back-up and diaper bags. And if your kid is a good eater, esp. of veggies, how did you make that happen (besides good vegetable-eating genes)? I would love to be the mom of THAT toddler – you know, the one who eats pickles and vegetarian sushi and sauerkraut.

Also, assvice about getting organized and not making the whole thing into a huge production would be appreciated.

I got a taste of it the other night – NSG got a tiny cup for Roo and put some formula in it because he kep grabbing for her glass. It all went great until it came time for him to close his mouth. But we’ve got to start somewhere.

11 Responses to Ess gezunterhait…

  1. shirky says:

    awesome…food eating is something I really look forward to. We already make him smell whatever we’re having.

  2. techie says:

    We didnt take everything to heart in this book, but it is a good reference for what is in foods and when to present them etc. We used Super baby Food by Ruth Yaron.

    However, our kid is ‘an eater’ and he would never eat the super baby porrige that is in there. We got Earth’s Best for organic babyfood, and he ate a lot of their cereal. We called it concrete. 🙂 got to rinse those bowls right away.

    We started with Cereal and Avacado. Avocado has really good stuff and you can mush it up and strain it.

    Lots of food can be run through a regular strainer with a spatula, Avacado, sweet potato, anything that is stringy like that. We just got a hand food strainer, you can find them anywhere, shop around for one used or under 10 bucks. We didn’t use ours a whole lot with our kid, but he was into the chewing thing.

    Applesauce is a good, and bannanas mush easily. I don’t think you get to control whether you get a kid that eats everything or not, but we just kept letting him try our food once he got older. and found that he liked the most amazing things. Gyros and hummus are big hits here along with carrots and cornbread and chilli.

    Just remember to keep persenting things. They say that it takes something like 20 times before a food becomes familiar to a kid. Good luck!

  3. techie says:

    oh yeah-
    making your own. totally easy with a lot of things. Get some extra ice cube trays and divide the food in to prtions in the trays, and cover with foil and feeze, once frozen, they can be dumped out of the tray into a freezer bag. Then you use a baby food jar (that you saved or got from a friend) an let it defrost in your fridge over night and it’s ready to go the next day. We also found that doing this caused us to vary his diet more instead of trying to feed him the ‘whole jar’ That might have helped his liking lots of different foods too. He rarely had a meal that was just one type of food.

  4. Ruby eats everything I make & I make everything from scratch & with tons of veggies. How did I get her to eat veggies you ask? Well, I’m sure that some of it comes from the fact that the first 14 months of her life she lived with a foster family in China & they don’t do ‘baby food’ per say, but just feed the child what they’re eating. Now, as for what I did once she was placed in my arms, I have two rules when it comes to mealtime: 1. Ruby & I ALWAYS eat TOGETHER at the TABLE! (no exceptions) and 2. Whatever I’m eating, she’s eating. No special meals for her & I just munch on something else or I make a meal for me & make her something I know she’ll eat. She came to realize early on that ” well, if Mom’s eating it then I guess it’s what I’m having too…” and the rest is history. Now don’t get me wrong, occasionally there will be something that, for whatever reason on any given night, she will not want to eat some of… (for instance, tonight I had pork loin with peas & rice & milk) she ate everything but the peas. Now I know she LOVES them but tonight just was not in the mood for them, and that’s OK. I don’t push the issue. She ate every last bite of everything else & downed two full sippies of Milk… no complaints here. If you two have any questions about anything (perhaps Nanny related) feel free to give me a jingle. I’ll email you my digits. Take care & GOOD LUCK! Oh, and please give little mister Roo a HUGE SMOOCHIE from Rubes & Me! =)

  5. Kahlan says:

    We used Super Baby Food and Earth’s Best too. I just used my food processor to make the food for Pookie. We are extremely healthy, Kosher, veggies and since that is all that Pookie has ever had, he is too. 🙂

  6. Erika says:

    You really don’t need the baby food grinder. Just your food processor, or it is a nice excuse to upgrade your food processor. I actually used the little food processing attachment that came with the hand-held mixer. I spent one evening a week making food. The Super Baby Food book was very helpful. Mostly, I would bake a few fruits and veggies in the oven (apple, pear, yam, potato, carrots, etc.) until they were soft enough to mush. To improve the consistency, I would add some type of plain yogurt, breastmilk or formula, or rice cereal if it was too runny. I would then fill ice cube trays with the food and freeze. Favorites at my house were apple and pear mixed with goat milk yogurt, mashed avocado, and carrots and peas mixed together. He has frankly never liked eating, from the start, but eats pretty healthy things when he does. Good luck!

  7. Laurie says:

    I just shopped for organic veggies and fruits and boiled them until they were quite soft, mushed them through a flour sifter, mixed some of the boiled liquid with it if it needed thinning, and put into ice cube trays.

    I’m sure I prob just said everything everyone above said. Sorry.

    have fun. My son was my first and he will always be the amazing boy who made me a mommy. He ate ALL my home made babyfood. My girls they were another story.

    Laurie
    http://www.litvinskyfamily.com

  8. Laurie says:

    Oh I also learned along the way that for some babies bananas and peas too often can make them constipated and carrots can be quite acidic and cause a wee bit of a diaper rash. Nothing concerning.

    Theres some assvice.

    Laurie
    http://www.litvinskyfamily.com

  9. Susan says:

    What with the feeding tube and all, we didn’t really experience the infant-toddler feeding things the way you (and most people) will. But Shannon has had a bunch of posts about what she feeds Nat (all home-made baby food) so those might be good reading for you (and of course, she might well leave her own comment here!).

    Because of Curious Girl’s medical issues, we spent a lot of time with the speech therapist working on the social components of feeding. Whatever and whenever you’re feeding, think about meals as a good social family time, a time for connecting and chatting and eating (like what Amy talks about in her comment). He’ll learn those patterns younger than you expect.

    Bon appetit!

  10. Erin says:

    *sigh* I’m finally getting caught up on reading blog posts, and just saw this. We made all of P’s baby food also. I used “The Healthy Baby Meal Planner” and it was great–I’ve lent it to a bunch of people (which reminds me, I need to get it back from my friend). It had a lot of good recipes in it also, and we still make several of them. We just add some more spices and don’t mush them up.

    A regular food processor works just fine for most things. I bought a completely cheap food grinder at B@bies R Us and used that for things like corn. We didn’t do jarred baby foods (except for one week-long trip out of Crazy State); I would just put some frozen food cubes in a leftover dish and let them thaw. He was fine with eating them cold. Or I’d thaw it first and put it in with a small ice pack. No problem.

    As far as eating well, P ate everything vegetable-like as a baby. Rutabagas, squashes, peas, avocados–you name it, he’d eat it. I was so smug about it, since I had the kid who would eat anything. Now, he will hardly touch them. But he does love fish and most fruits, and will eat broccoli and carrots, and tomatoes/zucchini/red peppers in the form of spaghetti sauce (I make my own).

  11. Shannon says:

    At dinner tonight I remembered that I keep meaning to come over here and respond to this.

    Nat still eats pretty much anything I give her (knock wood, she’s almost TWO). We also followed the Super Baby Food book pretty closely (you can read more about our exact food thing with Nat if you select “you are what you eat” in my index of categories). But mostly, she’s a fruit and veggie lover (and a multiple kinds of good cheese lover, and a whole-grain lover and a complex flavors lover) because (I guess) we have just only ever given her the option of eating food we want her to eat. I know I’m lucky that she’s isn’t pickier (yet) and I’m sure she’ll go through phases like a normal toddler, but overall, a regular eating schedule (which includes two snacks a day) and only healthy offerings have worked to keep her shiny and happy and make us feel good about what’s going into her little growing body.

Leave a Reply

