Hermetically sealed parenting

Because your day hasn’t been gross enough?

The boy has been sick. Snot-nosed, drooling, sneezing, snorting-like-a-pig-when-he-eats, waking-up-constantly kind of sick. Poor guy.

Moms needed a little break from the whining. Teething biscuits are good at any time of day or night for at least a 10-minute respite.

He’s happily gnawing on the teething biscuit, snot running down his nose, drool well below his chin. The biscuit, as it dissolves, is slowly covering both of his hands, his forehead, his eyelashes, his ears…

He sticks it in too far, gags. Throws up all over himself. Looks at his shirt curiously and sticks the biscuit back in his mouth.

I pick him up and race to the changing table, trying not to touch him too much as I shout instructions over my shoulder at NSG to get a bath going. And then he sneezes, one of those good juice baby sneezes. Snot down to his belly button. And what does he do? Sticks both hands in it and then claps his hands on either side of my face.

At least he didn’t pee on me in the process.

***

Sheesh. I blog twice this month, and then I blog about bodily fluids.

If you’re still reading you must really love me.

6 Responses to Hermetically sealed parenting

  1. Sparkles says:

    As much as I hate to say that I would laugh at another mother with a sick baby, your post gave me quite a giggle tonight!

    And you gotta’ love babies who can throw up, look at it curiously and get back to business!

  2. Lisa V says:

    Your last line…

    I do.

  3. I’m with Lisa V. And I’m also loving that you have such a full life.

  4. Erika says:

    It is a damn good thing that they are cute, isn’t it? 🙂

  5. Clementine says:

    Ewww! The thing is, I can just picture the entire episode. Poor baby, and poor mamas!

  6. Margie says:

    Ah, something we can all relate to – our kids’ bodily fluids 🙂

    I remember a friend of mine telling me that her son threw up so much when he was little that one day she literally ran out of shirts to wear. That’s a lot of puke!

    We had a distance barfer – boy that girl could throw up – and a drooler. Wet from neck to waist until he was three.

Leave a Reply

