Food allergies?

We decided to switch Roo from formula to milk today, since we’re approaching the 12-month mark. We were told to just do it cold turkey and not bother weaning him gradually.

Well, the kid sucked down 3 ounces and his system promptly rebelled. I’ll spare you the grossness.

Pediatrician says it could be an allergy, but not necessarily, and recommended that we just wait a week and try again. He’s been on cow’s milk formula for months with no problems, and eats every and any kind of cheese he can get his hands on, so it makes sense that it wouldn’t necessarily be an allergy… but this was a pretty violent reaction.

Anyone have any experience with this? Assvice? Ideas?

8 Responses to Food allergies?

  1. Laurie says:

    No assvice but my girlfriend recently mentioned that whole milk gives her 14 month old really loose poop. (to put it mildly) So she’s been giving her that enfagrow formula for her night time bottle and it seems to help balance things out.

    No idea and I’ve had 3 kids. LOL Actually the switch made my kids constipated.

    Laurie

  2. techie says:

    Try not switching him over all at once, but rather a bit at a time. 1 part milk to 4 parts formula and slowly increase. That might help.

  3. Dawn says:

    We kept Madison on formula for two years mostly because I nursed Noah for 4+ and was worried about toddler nutrition since Noah was such (and is such) a picky eater. As it turns out, Madison eats happier and more varied than Noah but we figured filling in those gaps with formula was still a good idea.

  4. Lisa V says:

    The only one I had on formula was Mallory, and that was 15 years ago. I can’t remember anything happening. I would agree on maybe gradually introducing it.

    You’re reading Rebecca Walker? All I have seen/read is the inflammatory stuff about not loving a step-child as much as a birth child, I’d be interested to know what you think of it.

  5. shannon says:

    I kept Nat on formula for two years too–mostly. I sometimes filled a cup with half/half: formula/cow’s milk. Like Dawn, I figured it was nutritional insurance to keep a lot of formula in her diet, but as Nat’s diet turned out to be really good, gradually, it came to depend on whether we had milk in the house or if we were traveling (maybe formula would be easier to transport). Anyway, I would go ahead and keep him on the formula mostly, and maybe try some gradual weaning in another month or so.

  6. Jen says:

    We kept Calder on formula until he was a year old, and switched him slowly using the 1:4 parts milk to formula and gradually easing the ratio until it was all milk. Even when he could drink straight milk we had to feed him formula for his last feeding before bed or he would wake up and cry one or two times in the early night. Now, at 16 mo, he is on all milk, but I still give him formula or rice milk if I think he is having digestive stuff going on.

  7. FosterMommy says:

    I think switching him over cold-turkey is probably not the best advice. do it slowly. And isn’t he not even 1 year old yet? I’d keep him on the formula until at least a year. Then do it more slowly.

    Remember that it really isn’t very important to have MILK in his diet every day. Like formula, it’s an easy way to get quick calories/protein/fats into him, but if he doesn’t do well with it, then that’s okay. Cheese, legumes, soy, grains, they’ll feed him fine without milk. If milk does’t agree with him, and you want something milk-y, then try enriched rice milk/almond milk/soy milk for a few years and try the cow’s milk again then.

    I’ll point out, and risk being annoying by doing so, there is no other mammal on earth that drinks milk after weaning. And definitely no other mammal that drinks another mammals milk EVER (except in odd circumstances). So don’t worry about the milk. (and by no means am I advocated veganism…i love me some cheese…and ice cream…)

  8. Thanks, everyone. I agree that switching him cold turkey sounded weird. I decided to listen to the pediatrician instead of my mama-instinct, the clost of that mistake was a half hour spent cleaning the couch.

    Foster Mommy – he’ll be a year in a few days, so we’re not really doing this early – but I agree about the weirdness in general of drinking another animal’s milk. Roo had breast milk for only a few months though, so it’s been formula, not human milk, most of his life.

    Dawn and Shannon – what you’re saying makes sense, but I will have to get over the grocery bill to make that decision.

    Lisa – that’s a whole other post, and one I’ve been meaning to write for a while. Thanks for the prompt.

Leave a Reply

