Too late but not too little

ABC – the Access to Birth Certificates Bill – passed in Massachusetts today!

This means adoptees born before 1974 or after January 2008 will have access to their original birth certificates.

I feel really sad for Roo, who doesn’t qualify to get his. We begged our placement agency, to no avail. I am counting the days until finalization (10 and a wake-up, thank you very much), and I won’t pretend I won’t be thrilled to be his legal parents as well as his parent in every other way, but it seems so weird to get a birth certificate with our names on it, as if we gave birth to him and Miranda and Michael never existed.

I can’t imagine not knowing my history, or even knowing it but not having any legal documentation. Who ever thought it was a good idea to erase all of that as if you could join a new family – even if it was on the first day of your life – and move forward as if there never was anything else?

6 Responses to Too late but not too little

  1. Jayne says:

    wouldn’t the hospital have given Miranda one? I have my son’s. Every state and situation is different. I was discharged with my son, so that might have made a big difference.

  2. shirky says:

    isn’t the bc in *wherever* anyway not in MA?
    i am confused

  3. dawn says:

    Jessica has Madison’s original so Jayne might be onto something. (Our wonderful Columbus bureaucracy sent us her original instead of the amended one by mistake so we were happy about that! We still had to go to get the amended one though to get her social security number or something so now we have both.

  4. Clementine says:

    That bill pisses me off. What’s with the year cutoffs? Folks born between 1974 and 2008 don’t deserve equal access? The whole thing makes me nuts.

  5. Jenn says:

    Yeah, I don’t get it either. What’s the date thing about? That sucks ass. What about our little Hester?

    Bastards, that’s what I say. It’s always the goddamn Man keeping someone down.

  6. shannon says:

    I was also going to ask why the weird date gap. But I see others beat me to it. Sadly, Nat doesn’t HAVE an original birth certificate, just the ammended one. But Selina should. I wonder if her mom has it? Now I’m dying to find out!

Leave a Reply

