Well-travelled


Well-travelled

Originally uploaded by Roundisfunny1

This little guy is a replica of a hippo that was displayed at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York in 2002. In the fall of 2007 he showed up in the mud at low tide in the tidal creek by my cousins’ house about an hour from Savannah, Georgia.

If he could talk, I feel like he would have an amazing story to tell.

3 Responses to Well-travelled

  1. techie says:

    That is cool. And really neat too.

  2. Umm, elephant or hippo? Either way, I love it. It dredged up a memory I haven’t thought about in YEARS. My mother used to have a postcard from a museum of a little statue like this – very similar markings on the side. I think hers was Egyptian – and it was a symbol of fertility/abundance/prosperity – and also protection/defense. The one in my mom’s postcard was a turquoise blue, though. My sister used to sort my mother’s button collection, but I loved her postcards of fascinating things from around the world. How great that you had such an cool object wander across your path. I love that you thought about its story. What an interesting spark. Thanks for posting it.

  3. Erin says:

    It’s WILLIAM (and yes, he’s definitely a hippo)! We have a William at home and the book “A Tale of Two Williams” that’s a lovely story about a little boy named William who goes to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and how William the hippo gives him a tour around. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

