Enough already

Please, please, please: I am hardly Britney Spears’ biggest fan, and I cop to reading People magazine on line pretty much every day, but seriously: leave her alone. There are pictures on the internet that were taken from INSIDE THE AMBULANCE as she was hauled off to the hospital after a breakdown.

The woman has been in the spotlight since she was this big. She got rich fast and famous faster, had some less-than-perfect role models, and no one seems to believe that she can actually make good decisions for herself or her children. I’m not sure who wouldn’t down some pills and fall apart in those circumstances.

She’s ill. She’s made some really poor decisions for herself and her children. But quit blaming her for her current circumstances by naming all the reasons she “deserves” to be punished. Just give the woman a little breathing space, get her out of the limelight for a while. People – including people with drug and alcohol addictions – can do surprisingly good things when it’s actually expected of them.

/Rant

5 Responses to Enough already

  1. shirky says:

    I need to see this post as a youtube video. with eyeliner.

  2. Dawn says:

    Oh god, I KNOW. I feel so so so bad for her. And for her sister. It’s making me a little sick.

  3. Lisa V says:

    Part of what I find so tragic about this is that Britney seems just as addicted to the media attention as whatever other addictions she has. I wish the photographers would quit chasing her, and I wish she would try to find a better way than to court them. Truly what have we cultivated that people can crave this kind of infamous attention?

    She is damn tragedy and the best thing for her would be to move to the middle of nowhere for awhile and figure out what she wants.

  4. Anon says:

    I feel some of britney’s pain. Mental illness is very treatable and most patients do not seek help due to the self-stigma regarding the condition. Just recently, a female co-worker of mine told me in complete implicating ignorance that she could see me going “psycho or crazy one day”. I had gone through a nervous breakdown once in my life. I could see myself in Britney’s place again some day. It’s sad to know that individuals like my coworker live and breathe to see someone else suffer – and actually mean it.

Leave a Reply

